Board of Elders

First Lutheran Church

Board of Elders

The Congregation of First Lutheran Church is divided into 12 geographic zones with one Elder in charge of

each Zone.  Realignment of zone boundaries or changes in the number of zones are considered/ approved

by the Voters’ Assembly.


Duties of the Board of Elders are as follows:   (Source: First Lutheran Evangelical Church Constitution)

  • In conjunction with the Pastor(s), plan the spiritual program of the church.
  • Assist the Pastor(s) cultivate peace, love, and harmony among the members of the congregation as well as promote the general welfare of the congregation.
  • Consider cases of church discipline and bring them to a successful conclusion accordance with Matthew 18:15-20.
  • Welcome visitors at church services or other activities.
  • Make recommendations to the Voter’s Assembly in relation to calling a pastor.
  • Make recommendations to the Church Council on annual salary changes to the Pastor(s) and Church secretary(s) and prepare the annual Board of Elder’s budget.
  • Responsible for proper conduct of church services.
  • Visit those members who are inactive in Church attendance and communion.
  • Hold annual Elder zone meetings.
  • Manage any called worker(s), other than school faculty.


2016 Board of Elders

To contact your Elder, send an email to  Include your elder’s name or zone and your email will be forwarded to your Elder.

Zone 1  Oklahoma Don Heard
 Zone 2  From Grand North to I-540 Cody Friddle
Zone 3  Rogers North to Grand and East to I-540 Mark Barr
 Zone 4  I-540 to Zero to Massard John Ballard
 Zone 5  Massard East to Barling Rob Schmidt
Zone 6  Old Greenwood Rd. to Rogers to I-540 Carl Cummings
 Zone 7  I-540 to Rogers to Zero Randy Coleman
Zone 8  South of Rogers and East of Massard Rd. Bill Shaver
Zone 9  South of Independence to Old Greenwood Rd. to I-540 Gary Roberts
Zone 10  Fianna Hills Kurt Griesse
Zone 11  Van Buren Lou Fellwock
Zone 12  Out of Town Craig Henderson

Bible for Today (ESV)
Burgundy vertical